2011 : 3m National Teaching Fellowship 

Ten professors are recognized each year across Canada for excellence in teaching with a 3M National Teaching Fellowship. The award was set up in 1986 by the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education and 3M Canada to promote excellent teaching in university settings. 

2008 : Association of Atlantic Universities, Instructional Leadership Award

Faculty presented with this award have continuously provided an effort over an extended period of time to improve learning and teaching at the university level.

2008 : Saint Mary's University, Dr. Geraldine Thomas Educational Leadership Award

This award is presented to faculty members who have made an outstanding, long term effort towards improving teaching at Saint Mary's University. 

2008 : Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) Medal for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

This medal is awarded to faculty who have a deep understanding of their subject, have an extraordinary ability to communicate this understanding to their students and are able to lead their students to academic excellence in physics.

2007 : Saint Mary's University, 2007-2008 Teaching Scholar

Presented to faculty members who advocate teaching and learning initiatives. 

2005 : Saint Mary's University, Reverend William A. Stewart Medal for Excellence in Teaching

This medal is presented to professors who have exceeded expectations and gone above and beyond what is expected of them.

2004 : Saint Mary's University, SMUSA Faculty of Science Excellence in Teaching Award

 Presented to members of the Faculty of Science at Saint Mary's University who has been voted by the members of the Saint Mary's University Student Association (SMUSA) to posses the qualities of an outstanding educator in science.

2000 : Florida State University "Excellence in Teaching" Award

Awarded to faculty who show excellence in teaching. 

Below is a short CBC National News clip of Dr. Sarty's Teaching Methods!

Go to top